[Get This]






ICM Library Foundation

The Swadhisthana Chakra.

Chakra 2


Image and Description.

In the Indian Tantric tradition, this chakra, called the Swadhisthana or "Self or Own Abode", is figured as having six petals, white in colour, and with a crescent in the center, the tattwa of water.  This chakra therefore corresponds to the element Water and is traditionally associated with the sexual impulses and sexual energy. 

I would be suggested that it does not, however, correspond to the sex-organs as such, which are under the supervision of the Sacral and Pubic Centres, but to the original subtle energy behind the sexual impulse.

Indian teachings place a lot of emphasise on celibacy, in order to raise and transmute this powerful sexual energy to the brain (or, more correctly, the Upper Tien Tan Centre, to use the Taoist paradigm), increasing higher consciousness.  This is actually the basic principle behind celibacy in all religions, including Catholicism.  In practice however, this noble ideal flounders, because the individual is not yet ready to renounce physical sex, and may become psychologically unbalanced, full of guilt, or turn to paedophilia or other unnatural forms of sex.


Deities within the Swadhisthana Chakra.

Clockwise from the bottom:
Varuna, Vishnu, Rakini.

Table for Swadhisthana Chakra 2.

Terminology Tantric swadhishthana, adhishthana, bhima, shatpatra, skaddala padma, wari-chakra
Vedic (late Upanishads) swadhishthana, medhra
Puranic swadhishthana
Position externally, genital region
Petals number six; arranged from right to left
colour vermilion, deep red, shining red, whitish red, lightning-like, golden
Matrika-letters on petals six in number: Bang Bhang Mang Yang Rang Lang, arranged from right to left
colour lightning-like, diamond-white, white, vermilion
Vrittis on petals six in number; arranged from right to left
name 1 affection; 2 pitilessness; 3 feeling of all-destructiveness; 4 delusion; 5 disdain; 6 suspicion
In the pericarp half-moon-shaped 'water'-region
colour of the Water Region white
Water-bija (in Water Region) Wang
colour of Water-bija moon-white
Form of Water-bija deity Varuna
Concentration form of Varuna Varuna is white in colour, four-armed, holding a noose, and seated on a makara ("crocodile" - "water monster")
In the bindu of Wang deity Vishnu
Concentration form of Vishnu Vishnu is shining dark-blue (or black), golden, crystal-white, moon-white, and white; youthful and graceful; three-eyed, four-armed, holding a conch, wheel, mace and lotus; dressed in yellow raiment; wears shriwatsa-mark, Koustubha-gem and wanamala; seated on garuda
Presiding divinity power Rakini
Concentration of Rakini Rakini is dark-blue (or black), or red in colour; beautiful-faced, vermilion-mark on forehead; three-eyed; dressed in white raiment; two-armed, holding a sword and a shield; or, four-armed, holding a trident, a lotus, a drum and the Vajra, or a chisel; seated on a red lotus


Further Associations.

Ann Ree Colton links this Centre with the god Jehovah (perhaps because of Rudolph Steiner, who, curiously, associates Jehovah with the Moon), who she describes as the "Race Lord", responsible for the moulding of races, and also for wars.  It may well be that Jehovah represents the negative or destructive polarity of this chakra, just as the Pagan Goddess (more usually associatyed with the Moon) represents the positive or creative polarity.  In any case, this centre is very much tied up with the drive to physical procreation and, hence, biological evolution of the species.

Astrologically then, this centre perhaps corresponds to the Moon - not the actual physical moon of course, but the subtle-causal or etheric counterpart (relative to which the gross or external moon is simply the physical body), the first "Celestial Sphere" relative to Earthly existence.  Relative to the Sun and the Solar System as a whole, however, this Centre corresponds to the first Macrocosmic Chakra, represented by the etheric (non-physical) planet Vulcan.