To Homepage     Previous     Next      Index      Table of Contents
A Treatise on Cosmic Fire - Section One - Introductory Remarks - Fire in the Macrocosm
The internal fires that animate and vitalize shew themselves in a twofold manner: [42/43]

First as latent heat. This is the basis of rotary motion and the cause of the spheroidal coherent manifestation of all existence, from the logoic atom, the solar ring-pass-not, down to the minutest atom of the chemist or physicist.

Second, as active heat. This results in the activity and the driving forward of material evolution. On the highest plane the combination of these three factors (active heat, latent heat and the primordial substance which they animate) is known as the 'sea of fire,' of which akasha is the first differentiation of pregenetic matter. Akasha, in manifestation, expresses itself as Fohat, or divine Energy, and Fohat on the different planes is known as aether, air, fire, water, electricity, ether, prana and similar terms. 9, 10, 11 It is the sumtotal [44] of that which is active, animated, or vitalized, and of all that concerns itself with the adaptation of the form to the needs of the inner flame of life.

9 Akasha. Definition (S. D., II,538)

  • It is the synthesis of ether (S. D., I, 353, 354)
  • It is the essence of ether (S. D., I, 366)
  • It is primordial ether (S D., I, 585)
  • It is the third Logos in manifestation (S D., I, 377)

10 H. P. B., defines the Akasha in the following terms: (S. D., II, 538) "Akasha the astral Light can be defined in a few words: It is the Universal soul, the Matrix of the Universe, the Mysterium Magicum from which all that exists is born by separation or differentiation. In the various occult books it is called by different terms and it would be of value perhaps if we enumerate some of them here: There is one universal element with its differentiations.

Homogeneous Differentiated
1. Undifferentiated cosmic substance 1. Astral Light.
2. Primordial ether 2. Sea of fire.
3. Primordial electric entity 3. Electricity.
4. Akasha 4. Prakriti.
5. Super-astral light 5. Atomic matter.
6. Fiery serpent 6. The serpent of evil.
7. Mulaprakriti. 7. Ether, with its four divisions "air, fire, water earth".
8. Pregenetic matter.
11 Fohat is divine thought or energy (Shakti) as manifested on any plane of the cosmos. It is the interplay between Spirit and matter. The seven differentiations of Fohat are:
  1. The Plane of divine life - Adi - Sea of fire.
  2. The Plane of monadic life - Anupadaka - Akasha.
  3. The Plane of spirit - Atma - Aether.
  4. The Plane of the intuition - Buddhi - Air.
  5. The Plane of mind - Mental - Fire.
  6. The Plane of desire - Astral - Astral Light.
  7. The Plane of density - Physical - Ether.

(S. D., I, 105, 134, 135, 136)

To Homepage     Previous     Next      Index      Table of Contents
Last updated Monday, June 1, 1998           Energy Enhancement Meditation. All rights reserved.
Search Search web