To Homepage     Previous     Next      Index      Table of Contents
A Treatise on Cosmic Fire - Section Two - Division D - Thought Elementals and Fire Elementals
Though we have thus divided off the different stages of development, we have but dealt with the general average, gathering our facts from the records to which we have access and which are grouped in relation to this subject into the three groups, related to:
  1. The Monads of power.
  2. The Monads of love.
  3. The Monads of activity.

The student must remember that according to these groupings, so will be the tendency of the petals to unfold. For instance, in the case of the majority of men, being [825] Monads of Love, the love petals are more easily awakened, for love is the nature of the present manifestation and the line of love in some direction (low, high, or spiritual) is the line of least resistance for the many. Yet the Monads of activity are numerous and influential and the first petal in each ring is for them the easiest to unfold. For both groups the "knowledge" petal is the first opened, owing to the inherent nature of the Manasadevas themselves, and their basic vibration. For all, sacrifice is the hardest, for it involves ever the two factors of intelligence and love, - intelligent knowledge and a love that goes out to that which must be saved through sacrifice.

In these three circles of petals lies concealed another clue to the mystery of the 777 incarnations. The figures do not convey an exact number of years, but are figurative and symbolical; they are intended to convey the thought of three cycles of varying duration, based upon the septenary nature of the manifesting monad.

First. The 700 incarnations. These concern the unfoldment of the outer circle. This is the longest period. The initial vibration is slow and heavy, and millennia of lives have to elapse before the interchange of energy between the Ego and its reflection, the personal self (the lower threefold man) is such that the consciousness of the man occultly "awakens" in the Hall of Learning. For advanced man at this time these incarnations took place upon the moon chain and in some cases upon certain planets connected with the inner round. This is the circumstance which necessitated his "coming-in" during the Atlantean root-race. Men of this type refused to incarnate earlier, as the bodies were too coarse; this was the cyclic reflection (on the lowest plane) of the refusal of the Monads to incarnate at the dawn of manvantaric opportunity. No real "sin" was committed; it was their privilege to discriminate, and this refusal has its [826] bearing upon conditions upon Earth, being the basis of the great class distinctions which - in every land - have been so fruitful of trouble and the esoteric foundation of the "caste" system, so abused now in India. The problem of labor and capital has its roots in the subjective distinction between "equipped and unequipped" Egos, between those units of the human family on earth who have passed out of the Hall of Ignorance, and those who are yet groping in its dark and gloomy corridors; between those Egos who are only "bud" Egos, and those who have organized the outer circle of petals, and whose petals are ready to open up.

The idea of a septenate of centuries must be carefully pondered upon, and as ever in all occult matters, the idea of triplicity must be also borne in mind with a synthesizing period, which is a summation of the triple coordination:

3 periods of 3 tens 90 years.
1 synthesizing period 10 years.
100 years.
This seven times repeated * 7
700 years.
Each cycle (again figurative cycles) leaves one of the petals more vitalized, and has a definite effect on each.

Second. The 70 incarnations. These concern the unfoldment of the middle circle. Much may be learned from a consideration of the occult significance involved in the sending out of their followers by any initiate (such as the Christ) in groups of seventy, going two and two. These seventy incarnations primarily effect the development of love in the personal life, the evolution of the astral nature, based on the recognition of the pairs of opposites, and their equilibrising in love and service.

This cycle covers the period passed by the man in the [827] Hall of Learning and has its correspondence in the Atlantean root-race and its conflict between the Lords of the Dark Face and the Brotherhood of Light. Within the life of each individual, a similar conflict wages during this period, ending with the final kurukshetra or battleground which earns for the man the right to tread the Probationary Path, and eventually the privilege to stand before the Portal of Initiation. Again the numerical significance of the numbers must be studied; this time they are hid in the number ten, or three cycles of three lesser periods, each making nine, and one synthesizing period, leading up to the consummation of one period within the greater cycle; this is signified by the ten of relative perfection. 63, 64 The interplay between kamic impulse and manasic energy has produced a realization within the consciousness of the Ego of that [828] which he has learned within the two Halls; the outer circle of petals is unfolded, and the central ring is ready to open.

63 The Number 10. - See S. D., I, 125, 126.

1. The three, enclosed within the circle are the sacred Four.

  1. Adi-Sanat, the Number, Unity. The Logos, or the One in physical incarnation. God and man function as unities on their respective physical planes.
  2. The Voice of the Word, the Numbers, for He is one and nine. The second aspect. The embodied Idea. Consciousness.
  3. The formless Square, the matter aspect, substance and form. Limitation.

    Trace these out in connection with:

  1. A solar Logos informing a solar system.
  2. A planetary Logos, informing a planetary scheme.
  3. Man, informing his bodies of manifestation.

2. The ten are the arupa universe.

The emphasis here is laid upon the subjective Lives, or the Intelligent Consciousness within the forms.

These ten might be called:

  1. The first Logos - Shiva - Father - Will.
  2. The second Logos - Vishnu - Son - Love-wisdom.
  3. The third Logos - Brahma - Holy Ghost - Intelligence over-shadowing Matter, Mother.
  1. The Lord of Cosmic Will - First Ray.
  2. The Lord of Cosmic Love - Second Ray.
  3. The Lord of Cosmic Intelligence - Third Ray.
  4. The Lord of Cosmic Harmony - Fourth Ray.
  5. The Lord of Cosmic Knowledge - Fifth Ray.
  6. The Lord of cosmic Devotion - Sixth Ray.
  7. The Lord of Cosmic Ceremonial - Seventh Ray.

They are the subjective consciousness, the cause of manifestation.

64 S. D., I, 214; II, 393, 445, 446.

To Homepage     Previous     Next      Index      Table of Contents
Last updated Monday, June 1, 1998           Energy Enhancement Meditation. All rights reserved.
Search Search web