To Energy Enhancement Meditation Homepage     Previous     Next      Index      Table of Contents
Esoteric Astrology - The Nature of Esoteric Astrology - Spiritual Effects of the Zodiacal Constellations
This sign is sometimes called "the place of judgment" for it is here that the decision is made and the die is cast which separate the "sheep from the goats" or those constellations ruled by Aries (the Ram or Lamb) and those ruled by Capricorn, the Goat. It really marks the distinction between the ordinary wheel of life and the reversed [230] wheel. In the days before Leo-Virgo were divided into two signs, Libra was literally the midway point. The situation was then as follows:

Aries - Taurus - Gemini - Cancer - Leo-Virgo
Scorpio - Sagittarius - Capricorn - Aquarius - Pisces.

and in this round of the zodiac (as far as humanity is concerned) you have depicted the entire history of the race. This involves its mental beginnings in Aries (the will to manifest) and the start of the outgoing life; you have its directed desire in Taurus, producing manifestation; the emerges its dual consciousness in Gemini or the soul-body realization; the processes of physical incarnation go forward in Cancer, followed by the dual development of the soul-body, or the subjective and objective consciousness, and the God-man in Leo-Virgo. Next comes Libra, wherein the point of balance is eventually reached between spiritual man and personal man and the stage is laid for the final fivefold process which is, in reality, the subjective correspondence to the outer externalization upon the Path of Outgoing and which is carried forward upon the Path of Ingoing, or the Path of Return. Then takes place the reversal of the wheel and the beginning of the new orientation and of discipleship in Scorpio, the directed, controlled life of the disciple in Sagittarius, initiation in Capricorn, followed by service in Aquarius and the work of a world savior in Pisces and final liberation.

In this world period we have the division of the sign of the Sphinx into two signs (the Lion and the Virgin, soul and form) because the state of human evolution and conscious realization is that of a recognized duality; it is only at what is called the "final judgment" that another fusion [231] will take place and Virgo-Libra will form one sign, for then man's sense of antagonistic dualism will be ended and the scales will have been turned finally in favor of that which the Virgin-Mother has hidden from expression for aeons.

This final judgment, as far as this planetary cycle is concerned, will take place in the next great world cycle and by that time two-thirds of the human race will have unfolded the Christ principle in one or other of the various stages of unfoldment and be upon one of the final stages of the path of evolution; they will be either probationary or accepted disciples or upon the Path of Initiation. Eventually, in some mysterious way, there will be only ten signs of the zodiac again; Aries and Pisces will form one sign, for "the end is as the beginning." This dual and blended sign is called in some of the ancient books "the sign of the Fish with the head of the Ram." We shall then have

  1. Aries-Pisces
  2. Taurus
  3. Gemini
  4. Cancer
  5. Leo
  6. Virgo-Libra
  7. Scorpio
  8. Sagittarius
  9. Capricorn
  10. Aquarius

Fire and water will then blend, veiling the past which has gone instead of the future as is now the case. Earth and air will then fuse and in this way the old prophecy, repeated in the Bible, that "there shall be no more sea" will be proved correct. Air (heaven) will then have "come down to Earth" and fusion will be established.

In the cosmic sense then and not in the individual sense, the unfoldment of the cosmic Christ will be manifested for which "the whole creation waits"; thus will come the consummation of desire as a result of dedicated aspiration. [232] Then, and only then, will the "Desire of all nations come" and He for Whom all men wait will appear.

The history of desire is to be found in the four signs of Taurus, Libra, Scorpio and Pisces.

  • Life
    1. Taurus - the Bull of Desire. - Material desire rules.
  • Balance
    2. Libra - the balancing of desire. - The opposite objective to desire is the scales or balances.
  • Quality
    3. Scorpio - the victory of spiritual desire - The soul triumphant.
  • Appearance
    4. Pisces - consummation of divine desire. - The "Desire of all nations." The Cosmic Christ.

There is therefore the individual experience in Libra of the balanced life wherein experiment is made and the consequent tipping of the Scales in one direction or another until either desire or spiritual aspiration weighs the balances down sufficiently so as to indicate the way that the man must go at the time. There is the experience of humanity in Libra in which the same adjustments and experiments are being made, but this time the entire race of men is involved and not just an individual. This group experience, carried out upon the mental plane, will only happen when all men are polarized mentally and will take place and constitute the Judgment day, referred to above. Of this, the "point of crisis" in Libra and the present world situation and needed adjustment is the forerunner; this time the balancing is, however, upon the astral plane and the desires [233] of men are predominantly in a position of casting the deciding factor, whereas in the next great cycle it will be the minds of men which will do the deciding. Today, the foremost men of the age - disciples, aspirants and the intelligentsia - are being tested under the Scorpio experience whilst the masses are in the Scales; the weight of mass desire will turn them either up towards spiritual decision or down towards material and selfish ends.

To Energy Enhancement Meditation Homepage     Previous     Next      Index      Table of Contents
Last updated Monday, July 6, 1998           Energy Enhancement Meditation. All rights reserved.
Search Search web