To Energy Enhancement Meditation Homepage     Previous     Next      Index      Table of Contents
Esoteric Astrology - The Nature of Esoteric Astrology - Spiritual Effects of the Zodiacal Constellations
In this triple relation of three major constellations, one clear understanding characteristic can be noted, and that is their essential duality - the effect of which is obvious and so dramatically present in Virgo. Aries sees the beginning or initiation of the relationship between spirit and matter. Gemini is definitely a sign of duality and signifies the relation of these two major energies in the human or fourth Creative Hierarchy; this dualism is emphasized in a still more intimate and comprehensible manner in Scorpio, in which the note of the evolutionary cycle which it dominates is "the Word made Flesh." It is the sign wherein the Christ demonstrates His control over matter in the guise of the triumphant disciple. Spirit and matter (Aries), soul and body (Gemini), the mother and the child (Virgo), the Word and the Flesh (Scorpio) - here are the four signs of creative dualism and interrelated evolution presented and descriptive of the potency and objectives of the fourth Creative Hierarchy. When Mercury, the divine Messenger, the principle of illusion and the expression of the active higher mind, has performed his mission and "led humanity into the light" [273] and the Christ-child out of the womb of time and of the flesh into the light of day and of manifestation, then the task of that great center we call humanity will be accomplished. Ponder on this for the significance of esoteric astrology will emerge more clearly in your minds if you can understand this fourfold activity of Mercury and the interrelation of these four signs of the zodiac - connected as they are with the logoic Quaternary.

It is in this sign also that the Moon in its own right of antiquity and of ancient thought-form control, and also as veiling both Vulcan and Neptune, connects the force of Virgo with the energies of Taurus, of Cancer and of Aquarius. This is of peculiar importance for it relates the form building aspect with the consciousness aspect which, at a high stage of development, produces the manifestation of the Christ principle or Christ-child. It has been said esoterically that four of the names by which the Christ Avatar is ever called are:

  1. The Desire of All Nations - Taurus - Fixed Cross.
  2. He Whom the masses sense or He Whom they anticipate - Cancer - Cardinal Cross.
  3. He Who is, for Her, the purpose of existence - Virgo - Mutable Cross.
  4. He Who shows the light and gives the water - Aquarius - Fixed Cross.

All these signs indicate forms of consciousness, which are conditioned and manifested by the energies of these signs, performing cyclically and ceaselessly their appointed task. They, therefore, are primarily concerned with the stage of discipleship and the manifestation of a solar disciple. Hence the two energies which come from the Fixed Cross. This is consequently one of the intermediate crosses which relate the major three and there are many such. [274]

Virgo is related to Taurus through Vulcan which brings in what might be called the endurance aspect of the will to-be which carries the incarnated Son of God through the experiences of the dark time wherein the personality becomes the Mother in the stage of gestation, through the period of infancy upon the physical plane and through the stage of adolescence until the initiate attains full maturity. This necessitates persistence, endurance and continuity of effort and is one of the characteristics imparted or stimulated by energies pouring from Vulcan. You can realize that these are first ray attributes and are the reverse side of those usually emphasized, namely, death or the activity of the Destroyer aspect. Taurus is an expression of the third unmanifested Hierarchy and of this Hierarchy we know nothing beyond the fact that it is concerned with the light which liberates from death. Therefore, you have:

  • Taurus - Illumination.
  • Vulcan - First ray or endurance.
  • Third Creative Hierarchy - Liberating Light.
  • Virgo - The Christ-life, latent and unexpressed (as is the 3rd Creative Hierarchy).
  • The Moon - The form nature, the substance of the flame which lights the way.

A vast field of psychological research in connection with all the constellations, the planets and Hierarchies is indicated above, but it is of too vast a nature for me to consider in this treatise. It will constitute the astrology of the future and will begin to be understood when group awareness and continuity of consciousness are established among men. However, as a form of mental gymnastics and as indicating possibilities, the concept is of use to you. for it widens your [275] horizon and indicates the marvelous scope of the divine plan and the synthesis underlying manifestation.

To Energy Enhancement Meditation Homepage     Previous     Next      Index      Table of Contents
Last updated Monday, July 6, 1998           Energy Enhancement Meditation. All rights reserved.
Search Search web