[Get This]


The Crown Chakra.


Image and Description.

The Crown Centre is located at the top of the head, above the ears. 

In Tantra this is variously called the Sahasrara (Thousand Petalled lotus), the Nirvana, the Parabrahma (Supreme Godhead) or the Bodhini (Awakened Consciousness) Chakra, among other terms.

When the mind is still God (the Universal, Infinite, and Eternal Self) is experienced in the heart chakra. Thus the symbolism of the crown chakra means "WHEN THE MIND IS STILL."

It's not an experience in and of itself, but is the cessation of the previous experience of the noisy mind.

In Tibetan Buddhism it is termed the wheel of great bliss and associated with the Swabhavakaya or Absolute Self-Nature; and in Taoism it is referred to as poetically as the One Hundred Meetings (Bai Hui), Kun Lun Mountain (the highest peak of heaven), or more pragmatically the back-of-the-crown point.

This is the centre through which one connects to spiritual dimensions and planes of consciousness beyond the separate individual self.

The process of this experience is simply the cessation of the usually noisy mind (ajna). Not just the cessation of thought, but also the desirous expressions of the other 4 chakras of mind - base, second, third, fifth. The heart chakra - chakra four in the seven chakra system - being the nature of God is not a chakra of the mind because the MIND EMANATES FROM THE SOURCE - FROM GOD. Therefore, the heart chakra symbolizes the Home of God - the source of All - and cannot therefore be an emanation - the source cannot be an emanation of the source! The heart chakra is not an emanation or product of the God's Mind - THE HEART CHAKRA IS THE SOURCE.

But more simply, white corresponds to peace, tranquility, and cessation of disturbance which is the true nature of the crown chakra.


Planes of Consciousness in the Nirvana Chakra.

The complex grades of consciousness
within the Nirvana chakra.

Table for Sahasrara Chakra 7.

Terminology Tantric nirwana, brahmarandbra (chakra), bodhini (chakra), bodhana, rodhini, chitkalashakti (chakra), shatapatra chakra, shatadala chakra, kala chakra, 
Vedic (late Upanishads) nirwana, brahmarandhra (chakra), parabrahma chakra, dwadashanta, shirshantargata mandala
Puranic brahmarandhra, rodhini, shanta, shantipada, dwadashanta, dwadashanta-pada, dwadashanta sarasija, brahmarandhra pankaja
Position at the upper terminal point of Chitrini, within the cranium
Petals number 100
colour shining white
Seat dhi (concentrative mind) and ahang (I-ness)
Sushumna terminates in talu-rnula (upper end of palatine region), also called brahmarandhra and dwadashanta, which is the topmost point within the cranium. This end-point of sushumna is marked by nirwana chakra, also called brahmarandhra and dwadashanta chakra.
Vajra, Chitrini and Brahma nadi also terminate at the upper end of sushumna


Further Associations.

It's associated gland is the pineal, which regulates the body's internal clock, and was considered by the philosopher Descartes to be the link between the body and the soul.

Ann Ree Colton locates in this chakra the "soul's pulsation" [The Third Music, p.***] and the halo or "luminosity-nimbus" of the soul's vibration around the head as it relates to the "higher unconscious" or superconscious, and which constitutes the middle sphere of spiritual evolution - the lower sphere being the ordinary ego-consciousness [The Third Music, pp.85-6 ].

This centre also corresponds in part to the Sefirah Keter or Crown, which represents the Godhead (or at least the first manifestation thereof), and which in Qabalah is usually associated with the planet Neptune.  In order to maintain the sequence of planets along the Governing Channel however, I have placed Uranus here, after Saturn, and Neptune with the Forehead Chakra.

Associated Psychological States.

It is suggested that when the Crown Centre is open Spirituality is spontaneous and is defined through unique individual experience - an  inner knowing or gnosis - rather than external dogma or religion.  One may also see auras and receive guidance from higher forces, or there may be a visionary or creative Imagination, or an awareness of and identification with an enduring cosmic order, or a sense of joyful awe and wonder at the cosmos, or a spontaneous inner understanding of Universal Truths and a sense of purpose and meaning in existence.

Conversely when this centre is blocked on the other hand, all sense of the spiritual and the creative is blocked as well (because all these things come ultimately from above), and the person will tend to have a very narrow, limited consciousness.  They may be an absolute materialist - the experience of life based upon only the first three chakras. Even worse they may belong to some fundamentalist religion or ideology, or they may simply have no sense of, or interest in, realities beyond the mundane, or beyond what they can understand.




Search Search web